Why Can’t We Be Friends

Angel Club 1965

Angel Club 1965

Making Friends

I have no problem making friends.  I am warm, witty and humorous. Most people like me.  If you don’t, something is wrong with you and I will continue to be nice to you and win you over.

My Mom, my Dad and my Stepdad are/were nice friendly people and it rubbed off.  All of my siblings have the same personality.

Sounds like I have a lot of friends, doesn’t it?  Nope!  I don’t have them and I don’t want them.  I had friends in high school, had them growing up in the neighborhood.  There were friends in the Army and all throughout my adult life.  I didn’t have best friends who I told everything to.  I was always more comfortable alone.

A long weekend with the girlfriends, a shopping trip with a bunch of women.  No thanks!

My sister recently told me that she always thought there was something strange about me because of my lack of friends.

I found a clue when I read The Birth Order Book.  I am an oldest.  Typical behavior.  Very interesting stuff.  You should read it.

Daily Prompt: Why can’t we be friends?  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/prompt-cant-we-be-friends/

The photo above is of The Angel Club minus our leader, who was older and wiser and made us do whatever she wanted.  These are my childhood friends from the late 50’s, early 60’s and my year younger sister.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Why Can’t We Be Friends

  1. This post really resonated with me—I periodically wonder why I don’t have more friends. In my life, I’ve had no more than a handful of friends; as if I couldn’t keep it close enough, my best friend for the last thirty years has been my cousin. I’d never been able to puzzle this through (people like me, I like them) but I like what you say about what it is you prefer to do—do I really enjoy groups of people? Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

