59/365 – December 21 2013 – A Bird Morning

With my eyes barely open, I saw the birds busy outside the kitchen window this morning.

DucksCLClogo

I’m not sure but I think these are Morgansers.  They dive for food and seem to like it right in front of the dock.

 

BluejayCLClogo

There were a half dozen of these guys flying around.  Noisy, but pretty.

 

ChickadeeCLClogo

The chickadees are always out there but today had to wait until the Bluejays flew off.

 

HairyWoodpeckerCLClogo

I had to look up his name as all I knew him as was a woodpecker.  He is an adult male Hairy Woodpecker and we have them year round.

 

PileatedCLlogo

And of course in midst of it all, the local pileated showed up.  I couldn’t get a great shot of him so I am adding a shot from a month ago.

 

pileatedsuetCLlogo

Always entertaining to watch him on the feeder.

 

Cardinal2CLClogo

This is a Northern Cardinal and a big, wonderful surprise.  It’s been a long time since I’ve seen one.  I looked it up and they do not migrate.  Also states that a male will fiercely protect it’s territory and will fight itself if it sees it’s own reflection.  Well, that was my morning!!

6 thoughts on “59/365 – December 21 2013 – A Bird Morning

  1. Those birdshots are just excellent. Must link some on my email list to these. Vibrant, deep color, and precision focus. Love the mountain blue jay…long overdue . . . adding you to my WordPress Community Blogzone blogroll!

    • So sorry. I haven’t been on for a while. I need to get back at it, I just struggle with stopping and starting things sometimes. Thanks, the birds are right outside the kitchen window. That kitchen window is now covered on the outside with huge icicles. Thanks for following, I will check out your blog.

Leave a Reply

