A Photo a Day & 41/365 – November 16 2013 – Birch Polypore Hunting

What does one do while walking on a drizzly November day?  Take pictures of fungi in the woods.  What I really wanted to find is Chicken of the Woods fungi but settled for these beauties.  I came home and googled fungi on birch trees and found out these are called Birch polypore or more technically, Piptoporus Betulinus.  Not really edible because of the bitter taste but not poisonous.  I saw Chicken of the Woods for sale at a farmers market in Oregon.  Supposedly they taste like lemon chicken.  I read that they can be found in Wisconsin but haven’t seen any yet.  I will continue my search.

 

BirchpolyporeCLC copy

Leave a Reply

