Day 8 My Dream Job

I  worked  a few jobs in my life.  Some short term, some long.  If I didn’t enjoy what I did, I didn’t do it very long.  I did not go to college and had no skills.  I worked in a few factories, cleaned homes, and when I was 19 I had a short stint working as a cocktail waitress in a club in the Florida Keys (fun).

cocktail-waitress-cover_175

I spent an hour in a massage parlor during that same time in the Keys.  My first “client”, a large, sweaty, drunk man asked me if I was going to take my top off.  I was told this would probably happen and I could do whatever I wanted.  I thought to myself at the time, “I can do this”.  Nope, I couldn’t!  I abruptly quit.

drunk man

I spent most of my “career” in clerical positions.

secretary

I am not working right now, and except for the fact that I don’t have any money coming in, I like it.  My dream job would be something I enjoy doing and  getting paid for it.  I would work for myself and would not put a lot of pressure on me.  I am good with people but don’t necessarily want to be around them.  I love being outside and I love being physical.  With those things in mind, I would say being a photographer of nature, architecture and all things outdoors would fit for my dream job.

Riverreflection8 L

I love to take pictures but don’t know a lot about photography.  That could be a problem, so classes would be necessary.  I think I have a pretty good eye and could make a living at it.  This is all in my dream world though, as in reality, there are too many out there taking pictures with a good eye not making enough money.

12 thoughts on “Day 8 My Dream Job

  1. I hope you find something that works for you. I just got a great job, and it makes all the difference. I love it, and I hope you find the same. 🙂

  2. How much is enough? If you’re doing something you love and you make money doing it, is that enough? Probably more of a matter of how you’d market it. Did you take that picture of the water and plants? Beautiful. I see that blown up big and on the wall over my bed. It would be so peaceful.

  3. How much is enough? If you are doing what you love, how much would be enough to live the dream? I love that picture in your blog. I would love that blown up and framed over my bed. Peaceful.

  4. For me, enough is everyday living. Someday I hope to be living the life of taking photos and not worrying about making any money. I have a bunch of those photos. They are from Fall, reflections of leaves in the river. I think that one has some plant under water also.

  5. Your life sounds a little like mine.
    I attended a class once that was supposed to help match interests, personalities, and jobs. We answered a set group of questions and then, shortly thereafter, the evaluations came back. There were categories of jobs for people who liked being with people (nurses, teachers, doctors, flight attendants, etc.), people who like working with things (car mechanics, engineers. lab techs, computer programmers,etc.) and on and on.
    But, I wasn’t given any specific category of jobs to look through. Instead, the professor said he wanted me to talk to him after class. Uh oh. Not a good sign.
    He told me that I was never going to find a good job match in the classifieds. He said, “I don’t know exactly where you fit in, but you do like like to tell stories. Maybe be a writer. Or maybe major in philosophy and teach it.”
    When I went home, my not so nice husband at the time said, “Well…did they find anything that an ‘Airy Fairy’ like YOU would be good at?”
    I told him that the man said to be a writer or major in philosophy and teach.
    ” Oh that’s just great, ” he replied. “What a joke! Writers starve to death and philosophers ride around on donkeys and get hit with palm branches” (Yes, he actually said that……no encouragement whatsoever).
    That was about 33 years ago now. I did eventually get a bachelor’s degree in Philosophy (just because I like philosophy), but no one can teach philosophy without a Master’s degree or a PhD. I’ve been a bartender, a preschool teacher, and a desktop publisher, and an opera singer. Strange combination, I know.
    A few years ago, I got a camera and found out that I love taking pictures.
    I don’t have a job right now either, so I am taking my photos and writing stories and poems to go with them. I love WordPress!
    I’ll never be rich, but I don’t care. I know that the more you have, the more you have to dust and worry about anyway. AND you can’t take it with you when you go. I am doing OK.

Leave a Reply

