Day 6 Five Things That Make Me Happy, Right Now

This was an easy one.  I am happy and love life and there are a lot of things that bring a smile to my face.  These are 5 that top my list, right now.  They are not in any particular order.

The Old OneThe Young One

1.   Skyping with my son and 2 granddaughters, ages 4 and 9:

My son sits the girls in front of the computer and leaves the room.  The oldest likes to ask me questions, makes faces at the camera so she can see herself and pretends she can’t hear me.  She thinks she is hilarious.  The 4 year old likes to type, tell me stories so quickly that I don’t understand 75% of what she says and tries to push her sister off the chair they are sharing.    Josh comes back in and intervenes or has them go eat their dinners.  I love to watch the three of them interact.  He is so good with them.  He’s tough and soft and funny and they are both Daddys girls in different ways.

The Dock

2.  Being outside on the dock:

When I moved here 2 years ago, coming out on the dock and writing in my journal was part of my healing process.  It is peaceful and calm out here (yes, I am on the dock as I write this).  We are on a small shallow part of a river and there is a little waterfall across from us.  It’s not directly across but close enough to hear it.  This is probably my favorite place to be.

Trail

 

Kayak on River

3.   Being outdoors:

Now that I am back in Wisconsin I love being outdoors.  I love every season.  I love the cold, the heat, the rain, the snow, the wind.  I love to run and walk the trails and the tree lined roads.  I love to bike those same trails and roads.  With our new toys, I now love to kayak our river.  I love to rake leaves in the fall and spring and shovel snow in the winter.  I don’t like the days I am stuck inside.

 

4.   Talking with My Michael:

I lived too long with a man who wouldn’t or couldn’t talk to me very long or have deep conversations without anger or frustration taking over.

Now I talk.  I talk all the time.  I talk about everything and anything.  Nothing is taboo.  If you ask My Michael, he may say I talk too much but he is always willing to listen to me and have a conversation.  I tell him my fears, my dreams, my ideas, my feelings on things.  I ask him about his fears, his dreams, his ideas and his feelings on things.  Now let’s remember, he is a guy, a big manly dude.  He doesn’t talk as much as me and although he will answer my questions, he doesn’t just volunteer this information like I do.  He is a very wise and intelligent man.  I love when he finds a subject he likes talking about.  I could listen to him for hours.  When he helps me with my fears and insecurities he is like having a counselor, best friend, pastor and lover all rolled into one.  He is calming and helps me understand the whys.

My Michael w/pipe

5.   My Michael:

I am happy to see him, hear him, touch him, smell him, taste him. I have become a stronger,  more independent woman partly because of him.  I could live without him.  I just don’t want to.

3 thoughts on “Day 6 Five Things That Make Me Happy, Right Now

Leave a Reply

