Juneathon Day 12

Yesterday was an easy walk thru the campground and that was about it for movement.  We went about 1.8 miles and out for 33 minutes.  On the way out  we saw a snapping turtle up by the campers on the road.  I was a bit worried about it getting run over but she was pretty big and someone would see her, I hoped. When she was still there wandering about on our way home, I didn’t know if I should do something or just “let nature take run it’s course”.  That’s what My Michael said to me.  So, I did something, I took her picture.

Image

As I am taking her pic, one of the campers yelled for me to be careful that she didn’t bite me.  I just laughed at him and took a couple more.  He then asks if I saw the other snapper on the other side of the picnic table.  The table was a little closer to the river and about 15 feet away from some other campers.  I jumped on top of the table and apologized to the campers for interrupting  them and there she was.

Image

But, it was a little box turtle not a snapper and she was obviously digging the hole to deposit her eggs.  I saw movement about 10 feet away and there she was, the snapper and she had her back end in the hole.  

Image

Image

 

So, there you go, the reason for the turtle invasion.  I googled it and this is the time of the year that the elusive snapper turtles leave the water and travel to lay their eggs.  Very cool stuff.

2 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 12

  1. Walk on and enjoy the process. The more you enjoy it, the more you’ll add to your routine. What a wonderful pass time from which to receive fringe benefits.

Leave a Reply

